HCE Web Portal Create Account Login
Clinical Governance
Clinical Governance is a framework through which organizations are accountable for continually improving the quality of their services and safeguarding high standards of care by creating an environment in which excellence in clinical care will flourish (Donaldson & Scaly)
Minimum Service Delivery Standards (MSDS)
The MSDS define a set of the benchmarks for minimum level of mandatory services that a Healthcare Establishment (HCE) is responsible to achieve and patients have a right to expect. It entails a package of yardsticks essential for all types and Categories of the Healthcare Establishments i.e. Category I, Category II and Category III and encompasses all the disciplines of healthcare and focuses on ensuring Quality Healthcare Services.
The standards prescribed in the MSDS cover the following functional areas for assuring quality healthcare services delivery:
Access, Assessment and Continuity of Care (AAC)
Care of Patients (COP)
Management of Medication (MOM)
Patient Rights and Education (PRE)
Hospital Infection Control (HIC)
Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI)
Responsibilities of Management (ROM)
Facility Management and Safety (FMS)
Human Resource Management (HRM)
Information Management System (IMS)
The MSDS and Reference Manual for Category I & II HCEs, Homeopaths, Matabs, BHUs, GP Clinics and Laboratories have been developed by the Punjab Healthcare Commission through a consultative process, bringing together healthcare experts, practitioners from medical fraternity and other key stakeholders from Public and Private Health Sectors. The MSDS and Reference Manual are provided to the HCEs on submission of formal application for the license. Extra copies are made available on additional subscription as and when demanded. So far MSDS, Reference Manual and Self-Assessment Tools for the following categories have been enforced:
Minimum Service Delivery Standards (MSDS)
1) Category I HCEs i.e. Hospitals having 50 or more beds.
2) Category II HCEs – Hospitals having bed strength from 1 to 49 Beds Subcategorized as:
  • Cat II A (31 – 49 Beds)
  • Cat II B (16- 30 Beds)
  • Cat II C (up to 15 Beds)
  • Rural Health Centers (RHCs)
3) Cat III HCEs
  • (BHUs)
  • GP Clinics/ Family Physicians
  • Dental Clinics
  • Homeopaths
  • Matabs
  • Laboratories
  • Imaging/ Radiological Diagnostics
Please Click Here to access MSDS
Introduction to Clinical Governance
MSDS Development Process
MSDS Orientation
Best Practices
Fast Facts
Home | About Us | FAQs | Privacy Policy| Terms of Use | Sitemap | Contact Us